The Untz Logo

Favorite ThisMinimalists rejoice at the first full band record from The Album Leaf

Published: September 7, 2016

By: Gregory Crocker

The Album LeafThe Album Leaf’s sixth full length album, Between Waves, was released on August 26th, is downright magnificent; let's not beat around the bush. The first album to feature a full live band instead of only mastermind James LaValle, the quartet does an incredible job expanding the projects sound while also keeping it reminiscent of prior works. Matt Resovich, Brad Lee, and David LeBleu round out the four-piece.

Front to back an ethereal, ambient, almost euphoric masterpiece, Between Waves might very well be The Album Leaf’s best album, to date. The instrumental accompaniment adds a whole new dynamic and depth to the already incredible sound making building on what was already beautiful production.

Atmospheric, lo-fi, and at times operating more as a devilish score to a throwback slasher sci-fi, à la Stranger Things, the 17-track album is the first from LaValle since 2010's A Chorus of Storytellers and his first on Relapse Records following a string of three releases on Sub Pop. Five remixes from the likes of Dntel, The One Am Radio, Daedelus, and more finish off the bold album.

The tracks vary widely in sound, from the mellifluous "Back to the Start," to the entrancing, Mogwai-esque opening track "False Dawn," to the brooding "Never Far," the entire album is a wonder to experience.

Tags: DowntempoElectronicaHip HopLivetronicaTechno