The Untz Logo

Favorite ThisSolarstone's Electronic Architecture Album - Nominated For An International Dance Music Award

Published: January 31, 2010

Solarstone's Electronic Architecture Nominated For An International Dance Music Award
Electronic Architecture - Solarstone’s futuristic, ground-breaking compilation album - has been nominated in the Best Full Length DJ Mix category at the International Dance Music Awards. In essence EDM’s version of The Oscars, in terms of nods, this is as about as big as they come!
Concentrating almost exclusively on discovering & A&Ring previously unheard talent from around the world, the 2009 album has succeeded singlehandedly in ushering in a new wave of progressive & trance producers.
Based around its inimitable music vs. art concept, and backed by a cutting-edge static & moving image visual array, it broke the down the walls between music, art and film. Critically acclaimed, DJ Magazine called it: “a two-disc journey through blissful prog, acidic grooves, lush breaks, soft tech textures and cliché-dodging, trance that is swathed in deep melodic elegance” and “a genuine gem, if given a chance”.
From a concept he’s nurtured for almost as long as Solarstone itself has existed, Rich was extremely happy to receive news of the nomination. Other artists running in the same category include Above & Beyond, Paul van Dyk, Markus Schulz & Armin van Buuren, so Solarstone is in some fairly estimable company. If you’d like to see Electronic Architecture triumph in the Best Full Length DJ Mix category, waste not another moment, swing by the voting page and tell the world how you felt about E.A. in 2009. If it happens to make it first past the post, you’ll have put a huge smile on the face of a music producer from a small rock in the middle of the North Sea!
solarSwarm’s 1st Release: Adam Fielding – 'Lost In Silence'
The latest imprint to join Solarstone’s growing label convention could just be the single biggest innovation in releasing music since The Big D (‘digital’!). Large statement, we know, but solarSwarm (summary strap-line: The World’s First Social Network Record label) is just that. One year in conception and another in its assembly, it’s now ready to bare its first fruit.

Run by the 100-strong Swarm committee, through that great age-old, tried and tested process of ‘one man, one vote’, they have been busy selecting the tracks, the remixers and the mixes that are released on the label. If you’ve got aspirations in the record label business and are finding it hard to break into, this could be the right first step for you. At the very least will give you some experience in how the whole shooting match works! If you’re interested just send an e-mail to and give us a brief rundown on why you’d like to become a member.

‘Lost In Silence’ by Adam Fielding, the Swarm’s first release has been easing us through those painful January Mondays & Tuesdays on near perma-loop. Complete with its excellent Elfsong and Estiva revamps, you can get a hold of it bright and early on the 25th of Jan through Beatport and all good DD sellers. With plenty more to come through the early parts of 2010, we’re looking at both a killer new label and a record label evolution. Not every day you can say that, eh!
Solarstone ‘Remodelled EP Vol.1’

Take two Solarstone tracks, strip them down to their bare riffs and rebuild them for a new decade. That was the task handed to our first two ‘remodellers’ for the first in this release series. RAM (whose RAMsterdam recently scored a top 10 in ASOT’s year) picked ‘The Calling’ from Rich’s discography. He has given it a voraciously energetic overhaul, whilst on the flip Haris C has brought ‘Solarcoaster’ a comparably fine towering, uplifting reconstruction. The first ‘Remodelled EP’ is out on Lost Language on the 25th of January.
Solarstone: New Album News   
As we write Rich is bunkered down & snowed in somewhere in the Welsh valleys… and he couldn’t be happier about it! After all nothing focuses the mind on completing a new artist album than not being able to do anything else! What more can we tell you about it? Well we’ve heard demos of several (as yet untitled) tracks. Included in those was a heaven-sent super-blissed-out breaks thang & a moody, downbeat, downright cinematic number. There was also a throbbing overtly clubby track called ‘Electric Love’, which may or may not arrive as the first single. The album title is tightly under wraps at the moment too, but as soon as the locks come off, the Solar News will fast bring it to your inbox.
Solaris International - Forthcoming Guest Mix News
Taking the Solarstone message global every single week, the Solaris International show has (amongst many other fine elements!) some cracking forthcoming guest mixes to look forward to. Currently kicking it with ‘Time Stands Still’, Mark Pledger will be stepping up to the plate, as will soft-tech maestro Ilya Malyuev, ‘The Calling’s remixer DJ RAM and Solaris Recordings favourite Forerunners. You can get that vital set-your-week-up-right first listen to Solaris International at 18:00 GMT Tuesdays on the forum (where you’ll also find interviews with the guest-mixers), listen again on the radio show player or leave nothing to chance and subscribe, as over 50,000 others already have, to the podcast.
Solarstone Vs. Tomorrowland 2010!
Solarstone has been announced as part of the gargantuan lineup for the 2010 Tomorrowland event. This years biggest dance festival will take place on the 24th / 25th of July at the Recreation Area De Schoore in the Belgium town of... Boom!!! Chuckles! Gets us everytime that one! Keep up to date with the event (which will eventually boast some 200 DJs!) here!
Solarstone's January Top 10
01. System F - Out Of The Blue 2010 (Flashover)
02. Solarstone - Solarcoaster(Haris C / Majera Remixes) (Lost Language)
03. Emission - Time (CDR)
04. Adam Fielding - Lost In Silence (Elfsong Remix) (solarSwarm)
05. Solarstone & Orkidea - Slowmotion (Big Blac Rat Remix) (Molecule)
06. Gary Orvis -Try To Find (Nick Rowland Remix) (Crashing Waves)
07. Stolen Souls - Break My Fall (CDR)
08. Predictionz - My Summerz (Approaching Black Remix) (Silk Sofa)
09. Alucard - Elation (Dj Eco Remix) (Solaris)
10. Arrival To Moon - Perfect (Gary Orvis Remix) (CDR)

Tags: BreaksDowntempoHouseTrance