The Untz Logo

Favorite ThisAaron Simpson – The Rising Two

Published: December 14, 2010


By Jamie Reysen

DJ/producer Aaron Simpson released The Rising Two, November 30th, on his record label Simplify Recordings. The mix tape, which he describes as a “journey into melodic drum and bass” is a catchy medley of intense drumbeats, dance tracks and dubstep.

Simpson makes unexpected song choices throughout The Rising Two, transitioning from a drum-heavy ‘Kick Snare VIP” remix into the dubstep sounds of Rusko’s “Hold On.” From there, he throws a frenetic yet danceable version of ShockOne’s “Polygon” into the mix, then progresses into the ever-popular and often remixed “Barbra Streisand” by Duck Sauce.

Simpson scatters segments of delicate, emotionally charged remixes throughout The Rising Two. His melodic remix of Cyantific & Logistics’ “Brighter Day” reflects a certain achy sadness. Shortly thereafter, Simpson spins an intense and dramatic “Come Back Stay” by Chicane and ends with Metrik’s “Arrival.” The combination of these three tracks near the mix tape’s end adds an emotional intensity that compliments its upbeat dancehall moments.

Altogether, he manages to create a mix tape that is both catchy and complex.


Download The Rising Two by clicking the arrow to the right of the waveform.  All of Simpson’s other mixes are available for free at

Track List:

01 Pendulum – Witchcraft (Rob Swire Remix)
02 Ravager – Extraterrestrials (Drumstep VIP)
03 Terravita – Up In The Club
04 Crissy Criss & Youngman – Kick Snare VIP (Drumstep Mix)
05 Rusko – Hold On (feat. Amber Coffman) (Sub Focus Remix)
06 ShockOne – Polygon (ShockOne VIP)
07 Duck Sauce – Barbra Streisand (Sigma Mix)
08 Tantrum Desire – Just Can’t Wait
09 Disaszt – Together (DC Breaks Remix)
10 Danny Byrd – Ill Behaviour
11 Sub Focus – Splash (Extended Mix)
12 M.A.N.D.Y. VS Booka Shade – Donut (Logistics Remix)
13 Ravager – Raindrops
14 Trippcore – Red-Y or Not
15 AK1200 – Drowning (Terravita Remix)
16 Culture Shock – Bad Red
17 J. Nitrous, Kira Annelies, Killa Foe – Say You Need Me (Smooth Remix)
18 State Of Mind – Universe
19 Doctor P – Sweet Shop (Friction vs Camo & Krooked Remix)
20 Skepta – Cross My Heart (Matrix & Futurebound Remix)
21 Blokhe4d – Sky Line
22 Camo & Krooked vs Body & Soul – The Big Rush
23 Camo & Krooked – Vampires (Phetsta Remix)
24 Delta Heavy – Take The Stairs
25 Zarif – Box Of Secrets (Cyantific & Wilkinson Remix)
26 Furlonge – Sinbin
27 Shapeshifter – Dutchies (State Of Mind Remix)
28 Smooth & KG – Squirm
29 BCee – Help You (ShockOne Remix)
30 D-Fiance & J Roth – Falling From Earth
31 Logistics – Cosmonaut
32 Drifta & Static – Still A Friend of Mine
33 Fourward – Let Me
34 Cyantific & Logistics – Brighter Day
35 Sigma – Stronger
36 Chicane – Come Back Stay (ShockOne Remix)
37 Metrik – The Arrival

Running Time: 76:46

Tags: Drum and Bass