The Untz Logo


Published: June 1, 2011

It's about damn time. Skrillex's star has been on the rise since early last year. High profile remixes of artists like La Roux and Lady Gaga on top of clutch spots at the biggest festivals in the country (Coachella, Summer Camp, Sasquatch, and coming soon Electric Forest and Camp Bisco) have blown Sonny Moore's stardom to even more epic proportions. All this, on the back of a quick and dirty EP, Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites, which has been positively begging for a follow-up.

Fans can officially start anticipating (and detractors flaming) their way across message boards. The polarizing prince of dubstep, electro, and drum 'n' bass is releasing a 7-track re-rub of his previous EP, More Monsters and Sprites. The new EP essentially amounts to a remix album, featuring four hacks at the title track from luminaries in the business like Kaskade and Dirtyphonics. The varied artists each put their own spin on Sprites, taking the track in a multitude of directions. Two versions of a new tune, Ruffneck, make an appearance, as well as the opener First of the Year.

Amid the whirlwind tour schedule and chain-smoking, Skrillex has found a way to stave off his growing armies of salivating fans. But this can only be a stopgap. A brand new full-length album (to be released on mau5trap, is the conventional wisdom) should be on its way. Perhaps a lighter Fall schedule would assuage the difficult writing process, but is that a tradeoff Skrillites are willing to accept? We'll see...


Available on Beatport June 7 and iTunes June 21.



1. First of the Year (Equinox)
2. Ruffneck (Flex)
3. Ruffneck (FULL Flex)
4. Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites (Dirtyphonics Remix)
5. Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites (Phonat Remix)
6. Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites (The Juggernaut Remix)
7. Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites (Kaskade Remix)

Tags: DubstepElectroHouse