The Untz Logo

Favorite ThisGRiZ to release 'Say It Loud' album as BitTorrent Bundle on March 31

Published: March 13, 2015

By: Ali Van Houten

GRiZThe anticipation is building for GRiZ’s forthcoming release, and I for one can hardly contain myself. The eleven-track monster Say It Loud is due out at the end of the month, and in the meantime, the golden boy of future funk has been leaking select tracks from the album.

Hot on the heels of the last two teasers, Grant Kwiecinski has released yet another new tune. “Funk Party” is a funky romp through some fresh territory that’s as good as you were expecting, with unique funky rhythms, fuzzy future bass and obviously, that signature sax. A reinvigorated take on his distinctive sound, GRiZ experiments with some new stuff on the track without deviating too far from what’s made us love him.

Interestingly, “Funk Party” is one of the only tracks on the album that doesn’t feature a collab. The just-released track listing shows that GRiZ is rounding up the usual suspects, like Sunsquabi and his All Good Records homies The Floozies and Manic Focus, but he’s also roped some totally expected artists into recording with him. GRiZ recruited respected rapper and political activist Talib Kwelli, as well as the seasoned R&B musician Ivan Neville. He’s even got Afrobeat icons Antibalas on there, which is sure to be a kickass collab whenever we get our hands on it.

In keeping with his tradition of making his music available to everyone—regardless of financial means—GRiZ has announced that Say It Loud will be released as a pay-what-you-want BitTorrent bundle on March 31.

If you’ve got the funds, though, I highly recommend throwing some scrilla at this guy who’s got both style and class.

Track List:
01 The Anthem ft. Mike Avery
02 Funk Party
03 Get Down ft. Sunsquabi and Manic Focus
04 Need This ft. The Floozies
05 It’s All Good ft. Jessie Arlen
06 A Fine Way to Die ft. Orlando Napier
07 For The Love ft. Talib Kweli
08 Stop Trippin’ ft. iDA Hawk
09 Headspace (Time Is On Our Side)
10 Turnin’ ft. Orlando Napier
11 Take It High ft. Ivan Neville [BONUS TRACK]

Tags: DubstepGlitchHip HopLivetronicaTrap