Favorite This

Four Tet b2b Jamie xx


When: -

Where: 1015 Folsom (1015 Folsom St., San Francisco, CA)

Minimum Age: 21+

Type: Indoor - Club

Web Site: Click Here

Genres: Electronica

Tickets Buy Tickets
Presale Ticket 1
$ 30.00
1015 Folsom, DJ Dials in association with do415 present




extended 3 hour set

with support from

EUG (Face)



FRIDAY AUGUST 22ND / 10P-3A / 21+

Tickets: http://fourtetjamiexx-theuntz.eventbrite.com/


Spawned by the urge to do something apart from his post-rock band Fridge, Kieran Hebden's Four Tet project balances organic and programmed sounds. Hebden formed Fridge with Sam Jeffers and Adem Ilhan while still in high school. When Fridge went on temporary hiatus for Jeffers and Ilhan to attend college, Hebden spent time playing with ideas gained from hip-hop and electronica that he hadn't had time to develop. Eager to experiment, Hebden bought a computer and began collecting drum and sound samples. Though his tracks sounded like they were made through another method, Hebden produced them all in his flat using only his computer to loop, slice, and paste downloaded samples and rhythms.

His first full-length was Dialogue (May 1999), which was noticed by experimental dub pioneer Pole (Stefan Betke). The two eventually collaborated on a 12", Four Tet vs. Pole, which included an original song by each and a remix of the track done by the other artist. Around the same time, Fridge were signed to the label Go Beat, owned by Polydor. Hebden retained Four Tet as a side project, however, and released subsequent albums Pause (May 2001) and Rounds (May 2003) through Domino. The No More Mosquitoes EP and the "My Angel Rocks Back and Forth" single preceded the May 2005 release of Everything Ecstatic.

In 2006, Hebden put together two compilations of some of his favorite tracks, LateNightTales and DJ-Kicks, as well as Everything Ecstatic Films & Part 2. The two-disc Remixes was also compiled and released that year, as were two volumes of his Exchange Session project with jazz drummer Steve Reid. These two volumes found Hebden working under his proper name for a change. This trend continued when their third collaboration, Tongues, arrived in March 2007. The four-track Ringer, issued the following year, was the first Four Tet release in over four years. It was trailed by the critically adored There Is Love in You (January 2010), Pink (August 2012), and Beautiful Rewind (October 2013). The latter two were released on Hebden's Text label. Throughout these years, Hebden also collaborated with the likes of David Arnold and former schoolmate Burial.


Working with and without his Mercury Music Prize-winning group the xx, Jamie xx established himself as a forward-thinking beatmaker and producer.

Born Jamie Smith in Putney, London, he began his musical career playing the drums, but after realizing he couldn't use his innovation skills on the instrument, he instead turned to the '80s Media Production Centre, which programmed his computer-based sounds onto electronic percussion pads, allowing him to play both live and in the studio. In 2008, he teamed up with former school friends Oliver Sims, Romy Madley Croft, and Baria Qureshi to form the xx, who signed to XL subsidiary Young Turks a year later and went on to record one of the most well-received albums of the decade with their self-titled debut. As well as reworking his own band's tracks, he also became a sought-after remixer for a number of pop artists including Adele, Jack Peñate, and Florence + the Machine.

His atmospheric version of the latter's "You've Got the Love" sparked the interest of XL boss Richard Russell, who asked him to remix rap pioneer Gil Scott-Heron's I'm New Here, which was retitled We're New Here upon its release in 2011. That year, Smith also released a solo single, "Far Nearer/Beat For," which won critical acclaim and made it to number 128 on the U.K. singles chart. Also in 2011, Smith worked on Drake's album Take Care, producing the Rihanna-featuring title track, and also worked on remixes of Radiohead's "Bloom" and co-produced Alicia Keys' "When It's All Over" for her Girl on Fire album. The following year, the xx returned with the even more polished and subdued Coexist, and Smith's remixes of "Reconsider," "Sunset," and "Missing" followed in its wake. In 2014, he returned to his solo career with "Girl/Sleep Sound," a sleek, propulsive single released by Young Turks.